The Modern Art Marveling

I hope everybody’s had a wonderful Christmas time. For me the past days have been all about resting and restoring my energy after the long and hectic autumn. The last days of 2016 are at hand I find it suitable to post about a visit to a Modern Art gallery Kiasma especially since we got an Art Pass for 2017 as a Christmas gift from work.

Modern art is most of the time quite challenging for me to understand. I fail to see the wonder in some splashes of paint or slashes in a canvas. Nevertheless, I believe that it is good to challenge your way of thinking every once in a while and who know maybe there is an inspirations waiting amongst all that.

One of the first exhibitions my friend and I visited was Mona Hatoum’s.

kiasma-1-of-7
By: Mona Hatoum

This piece of art was so soothing. Just listening to the sound of sand grains moving around is something I could have done for the rest of the night. Maybe I need to get a Japanese garden at home.

kiasma-3-of-7
By: Mona Hatoum

Hatoums want’s to bring awareness to the world of conflicts through her art. This piece of art is called Hot Spot reflecting the fact that the conflicts are no longer restricted only to the country they physically take place in.

kiasma-2-of-7
By: Mona Hatoum
kiasma-4-of-7
By: Juul Kraijer, name: Untitled

When we came across with this my friend stopped, looked at it for a bit and said:

“I’m all ears.” -Mariia Kukkakorpi

I’ll be sure to take her with me the next time as well.

From funny ear comments to something serious. There is an exhibition called After the Turmoil by Meeri Koutaniemi and Arman Alizad. They focus on survival and people who have been through extreme suffering but won’t let that bring them down. I have seen their work before and find it very heart-breaking, touching and inspiring. All my own sorrows vanish into the thing air and I remember how lucky I already am.

Here are some photos of people who collect trash from the dump pit just to survive.

kiasmaa-1-of-1
By: Meeri Koutaniemi & Arman Alizad
kiasma-7-of-7
By: Meeri Koutaniemi & Arman Alizad

One of the most interesting and thought provoking art pieces was a pile of glitter by Anna Estarriola.

kiasma-5-of-7
By: Anna Estarriola

In the art piece there is 1,75 kilograms of glitter. That reflects to the amount of ashes that will be left from her body after cremation. “I want to become blue stardust reaching the moon”, she says. The blue stardust reminds us about the inevitability of death.

This really got me thinking. Not only if I want to become purple or pink glitter but life in general. What do I want to be remembered for? I don’t want to take life for granted and always push things further thinking that there will be time to do them later on. You never know when is the last day so I feel the need to explore and gain a lot of experiences and memories while I can. I’m learning new skills so I could have a chance to make a career change. I want to travel and sleep under the stars and listen to the wind on top of a mountain. I want to chase sunsets and wish upon a shooting star. I want to believe in destiny and that there is a place in this world where I belong but haven’t found yet.

What a better way to finish off this year that with head full of ideas and adventures that I cannot wait to put into motion.

I wish you all a very happy and adventurous New Year 2017!

 

 

Leave a Reply

