The Black Gold

As the days get shorter and darker so does the mind. For the past few weeks I’ve been craving for something that is sweet and salty and oh so very dark – salmiakki or salty liquorice. This black candy has been around since the 1930’s and is still going strong. Nowadays it comes in any kinds of shapes and sizes, stronger and milder. And we Finns love it.

There was a festival to celebrate this divine treat and needless to say I visited the event. The annual event was held in Wanha Satama venue in Helsinki in the end of October and for me it was the first time there.

lakritsi-salmiakkifestivaalit-4-of-10

 

It was nice to see some photos from the past and relive all the excitement of seeing all the old boxes and tins that used to hold the salmiakki candy inside them.

lakritsi-salmiakkifestivaalit-5-of-10

lakritsi-salmiakkifestivaalit-8-of-10

lakritsi-salmiakkifestivaalit-9-of-10

 

The best part of any festival is the tasting. Going from one stall to another and enjoying all the different variations and aspects from ice cream to traditional candy to drinks and powders.

lakritsi-salmiakkifestivaalit-1-of-10

lakritsi-salmiakkifestivaalit-2-of-10

lakritsi-salmiakkifestivaalit-3-of-10

lakritsi-salmiakkifestivaalit-7-of-10

With some treats in my bag I stumbled upon something I’ve never seen before – the liquorice root. Of course I had to buy one and it is sitting in my spice cabinet waiting to be used. If you have any tips on this, I would love to hear.

lakritsi-salmiakkifestivaalit-6-of-10

The festival itself was interesting but there were far too many people there so the function venue was packed. With no idea who was queueing to which I probably got into so many lines and felt bad afterwards. Sorry people. Nevertheless, got to try some samples and definitely buying some liquorice ice cream home.

I’ll fight the darkness with darkness so it’s going to be a salty winter. Hope everybody’s got their own way to cope with the minimal sunlight.

Have a sweet and salty week!

 

References:

Wikipedia: https://fi.wikipedia.org/wiki/Salmiakki

4 thoughts on “The Black Gold

  1. I have heard you can use liquorice root as an alternative to the more contemporary toothbrush/toothpaste combo. Just chew the end into a sort of brush shape. I don’t know if it works, but at least it’ll make your teeth yellow so people can’t see your stains 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Callan for the tip! Somehow not surprised that this comes from you. I’ll be sure to try this if I end up running out of toothpaste. Would be better tasting at least. Hope you’re good.

      Like

    1. Thank you for your comment and the informative link Sartenada! That is very true that there are some effects on liquorice that are bad for the health. It is good to recognize these and follow your own body’s reactions.

      I believe in moderation and I am happy to have a low blood pressure as it is so a few liquorice here and there won’t do any harm.

      Even if I encourage people to try the liquorice it is not meant to make someone jeopardize their health.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

